How to delete and discard records

Deleting and discarding records have very different consequences:

  • When a record is deleted from a group of records, it is removed from the database.
  • When a record is discarded from a group of records, it is only removed from the current result set. It is not removed (deleted) from the database.

How to discard a record

  1. Select the record(s) to discard.
  2. From the module Ribbon, select either:
  3. A warning message displays.

  4. Click Yes to proceed with the discard.

    Note: Discarded records are only removed from the current list of records. They are not deleted from the database and can be located and displayed again with a search.

How to delete a record

  1. Select the record(s) to delete.
  2. From the module Ribbon, select either:
  3. A warning message displays.

  4. Select Yes to proceed with the delete.

    Note: If a record to be deleted is a targetClosedAn attachment is made from one record to another. The record from which the attachment is initiated is the Primary record; the record that is attached is called the Target. record (another record has made an attachment to it), you will be unable to delete the record without first removing the link in the primaryClosedAn attachment is made from one record to another. The record from which the attachment is initiated is the Primary record; the record that is attached is called the Target. record. For example, if a Catalogue record made an attachment to a Parties record, you must remove the attachment in the Catalogue record before you can delete the Parties record.

Related Topics Link IconRelated Topics